Work Update

So I thought that I might post a bit of an update.

Since people can google my blog, I’m just going to write in very broad terms.

I have to admit that this is my first official 9 to 5 job. I worked part time in college, and then had 4 months of student teaching (which was more like 7-7), and Peace Corps was an entirely different animal. Peace corps involved 14 weeks of class 8-5:15, and then once I got to site I didn’t really have a schedule for the first year. My second year I was just teaching in the morning. I also always had a midweek break for when I would go to Ouahigouya on Thursdays for internet and other internet related work like grant review.

I feel very very green.

Getting an MPH gives you the theory and the basic knowledge but applying it and translating it to the workplace is the next step. During my practicum I worked on IRB amendments, but never wrote an IRB from scratch. We talked about ideal study designs but those are expensive and hard to implement in the “real world.”

Some of it relates to Peace Corps…my office works with different offices and stakeholders and they want different things. Our job is to harmonize what they want and to do it the best we can and within a budget.

One of the things I struggle with the most is the work-life balance. I’m not very good at this.

Since I started running, I try and run a few times a week after work. Once I get back I’m really tired and want to eat and go to bed, but I’m glad I went out and did it.

I also signed up for two five mile races. Eeep! One in November and one in December. Hopefully those will go well. That is my longest distance yet, and I just worked up to a 4 mile run last Saturday.

It’s been almost 2 months but I still feel very new.

Every day is a challenge and I really enjoy what I am doing. That’s what matters (I guess).

Leave a Reply

