Busy Busy Busy!

In Peace Corps the fun never seems to end.  I finally have a few minutes to myself with internet and electricity before I go back to village. Here’s a short recap of what I’ve been doing for the past month.

England Vacation

Gallivanted around London, went to a BBC Radio 4 recording of the Now Show, lost my Dad at Harrods (BTW they don’t page people there so make sure everyone has their cell phone) went to both the Tate Modern and the Tate Britain, met with a faculty member and a current PhD student at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine met up with my best friend Hannah and stayed with her Fam, went to Chatsworth house in Derbyshire (where Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley and many other films were shot).

Got back to Ouaga Saturday night, Monday night…Successfully catered ran one Passover seder

COS Conference

In PCBF we tend to have our COS conference quite early so that formal education volunteers miss the least amount of school. COS Conference was intense! Lots of work on résumé writing, talking about our feelings, discussing our futures with a wonderful career panel, and paperwork! I have also officially set my COS date. I fly out of BF August 23rd 2013 on a Peace Corps Ticket (Cash in Lieu is not as high as it used to be, and I’d rather have Peace Corps book me on a ticket…every time I try to book a ticket here my efforts are futile). I still plan on getting a lot done in my last 4-5 months in BF. I still have two camps, and our Animation Techniques training….

Community Health Animation Techniques Training

I’d like to call this training “My Baby.” The CHAT (Community Health AIDS Taskforce) Team and I have been working on this training for months. We wanted to do it in June so that Education volunteers can attend the conference along with their villageois counterpart. The idea of the training is to train motivated villagers how to hold sensibilisations (awareness sessions) using sports, theatre, and discussion groups on various topics including family planning, HIV/AIDS, malnutrition, malaria, and hygiene. We were going to have the training in Leo but that conflicts with our Pre-Service Training, so because our APCD is from Orodara and has lots and lots of connections there. So I got to be the “agent sur le terrain” agent on the ground talking with potential facilitators, checking out potential lodgings, talking with the cook who will be catering the conference, and enjoying the lovely cooler weather in Orodara, and watching plenty of Battlestar Galactica at a PCV’s “estate” there.

Going back to village after a month away will be hard…and apparently Tigger did lots of work when I was gone…I might have a ton of kittens when I get home.

Leave a Reply

