Aside

Oh Motivation: or, the Kick in the Pants I needed…

One thing that many people ask me about is about practicing in the Peace Corps. I graduated as a music major in college and brought my viola with me.

There is no shortage of available time to practice, but it’s hard to practice when it’s over 120 degrees Fahrenheit in the shade. I didn’t end up practicing during hot season or doing much of anything during that period of time because it was too freaking hot. I would go outside and feel my body cooking.

For the last few weeks I’ve tried to get my viola out at least once a week, but with the past three weeks being packed with activities, Mid-service conference, Camp G2LOW, working stage, I didn’t have my viola with me.

When I get back to site I’m going to start practicing more. I already have a classified project involving the Bach Double and social media. You’ll just have to wait and see how that turns out. I want to play the whole concerto, so that will give me something to do.

I will also be playing the national anthem at an upcoming Peace Corps event at the ambassador’s house. When I found out that the ambassador was really excited about having a volunteer play, I was like…oh no…I have nothing to wear…senior management has already seen my nicest complets several times…so when I was in Kaya, I bought some bazin to get a really nice complet made with traditional embroidery. It’s going to be expensive, but I think this is an appropriate time to dress like an African viola diva.

Hopefully I can get into some kind of routine. I want to get projects going, but I think if I can set an hour aside every day (when it’s not too hot) that should work out fine. Everyone is planting in the fields right now and it’s school vacation and all the functionnaires are gone.

Wend-na Ko-d mam Musiki

May God bless my music making…I hope….

One response to “Oh Motivation: or, the Kick in the Pants I needed…

  1. So, Bach Double down a fifth or at pitch? The 3rd mvt. could get pretty nasty at pitch, I’d hate to do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

