You say it’s your birthday…

So last Saturday was my first Birthday in Burkina. In the United States this might consist of people buying you dinner, people buying you drinks, getting lots of presents. Or like my birthday last year, attending a conference, knocking the mirror off my car, and repeatedly running into my ex-boyfriend. I digress…

In Burkina Faso, it is customary for the birthday girl to invite people over to her house and provide them with provisions and libations. People come to saluer (say hi) to her, and to wish her a happy birthday.

I tried to provide my functionnaire friends with the best American/Burkinabé party that I could; complete with homemade popcorn, two boxes of strawberry cake (from Marina Market), herbed foccacia, rice, and 4 prepared chickens from the auberge (two grilled, two braised)

All in all it was a great fête and everyone seemed to have a great time! Happy pisi-la-taabo to me! (23 in Moore)

Lots of Homemade Popcorn!

Image

Strawberry cake!Image

One response to “You say it’s your birthday…

  1. linda marcuccilli

    happy birthday, sara!! glad to hear you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

