2 months in…

August 11th was officially my two month anniversary here in Burkina. I have officially lived in Africa for 2 months…So, I thought it would be fun to discuss topics with viewpoints from when I first arrived to now with a satirical lens.
*Disclaimer* – this post is meant to be funny and slightly sarcastic and the views expressed during this post do not reflect the US Government, the Peace Corps, PC BF, or the Government of Burkina Faso
I already have that on my blog but I want to make sure that all of my bases are covered .

Latrines
Then: What do you mean, we have flush toilets here?
Now: flush toilets? !? You mean those god-like things that you sit on?!?!?, oh, and aim and alignment are your friends…

The Food
Then: Rice, Rice, and More Rice, and why does everything taste like fish?!?
Now: OMG Rice and BENGA! I haven’t had these for days! Oh and it’s Attieke Thursday, the best day of the week!

The Internet
Then: OMG Internet! It’s not that fast but it’s great (We were lucky and hanging in a hotel in ouaga)
Now: Oh Internet in training village, you are slower than dialup (yes, I still remember dial up thank you) It takes 2 hours to upload 20 photos to facebook…gmail barely wants to work. No one is online…do I really need this anymore?

Biking
Then: I haven’t been on a bike for a year, I’ve been a spoiled college kid student teaching and driving to work. Why is this so hard…I’m always on lower gears than everyone else and tired all the time.

Now: I haven’t been on a bike for a year, I’ve been a spoiled college kid student teaching and driving to work. Why is this so hard…I’m always on lower gears than everyone else and tired all the time. But at least my legs are getting better…

Electricity
Then: (When I first arrived at my training village) I miss tv, internet, and being able to plug in all of my appliances at the same time to charge.
Now: Oh that’s great that my battery charger will explode with the NiMH batteries I bought, glad I read the instructions…oh yeah, my solar charger sort of charges my iPod, that’s nice…oh yeah, I spend my nights eating by headlamp…isn’t that romantic? Oh, and most of the tv here is either RTB (Reseau Television de Burkina) or Ivorien Music Videos, so you’re not really missing anything.

The Heat
Then: OMG I AM SWEATING THROUGH MY CLOTHES AND IT’S ONLY 9am
Now: Oh…it’s hot, I didn’t notice…I was too busy sweating through my clothes…
Village Children
Then: NASARA!!!! OMG they’re so cute!!!!
Now: NASARA!!!!! OMG I’ve been in village for almost two months and you keep asking my name and I told you 5 times already and you won’t stop *sigh*

Bedtime
Then: It’s 11pm, I should probably go to bed.
Now: it’s 8:30…I’ve eaten, taken my bucket bath and read my book…I should probably go to bed.

Bugs
Then: OMG ROACHES IN THE LATRINE!?!?!?!
Now: Oh hello roaches, you’re in my latrine, how’s it going…you ready to run away? I’m bigger than you…oh yeah, say hi to your mother for me, oh, how’s your family, and the work going? now scatter!

Being sick (Typical GI related Africa Adjustment Problems)
Then: I am so sick…my family is freaking out…I called the PCMO too many times…
Now: oh I’m sick, that’s inconvenient…pop some pepto…drink some ors…wait 30 minutes pop some more pepto…is my stool cause for alarm? Nope…wait 30 minutes continue pepto.

One response to “2 months in…

  1. Sara, darling, I miss you and my mommy is impressed with you and says hi.

Leave a Reply

